Honda XR650R Discussion
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Airbox question

Go down

Airbox question Empty Airbox question

Post  Guest Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:37 pm

I'm a lawyer, not a dirt bike afficionado. But i'm doing my best to tear it down, clean it, add some goodies, and get it ready for the TAT this summer. This forum is just what I need--thanks! So here go the first of many questions I have:

I have a uni foam air filter. Just under that is a metal screen. No mention of it in the repair manual. Anyone else have this? Is this a necessary item? Should I grease both sides of the metal screen when I re-install? Treat the screen itself with anything?

The uni is shaped like the outer airbox (ie, flat and kinda kidney shaped). Are there filter options for this bike in other shapes--such as for the cone-shaped snorkle closer to the carb? Would the metal screen I mentioned still be used?

Thanks. Many more questions to come under other topics.

Back to top Go down

Airbox question Empty Re: Airbox question

Post  Guest Thu Mar 12, 2009 12:55 am

The metal screen is meant to keep the filter from catching fire if your pig backfires. Some people get less restrictive ones or remove them all together its your call. The UNI filter is probably one of the best you can use as the foam filters do a great job filtering, especially dust and sand. I think they make a pod filter that sits on the carb but not sure many people use them. cheers

Back to top Go down

Post  Guest Thu Mar 12, 2009 1:06 am

I've got the Uni as well. With it you do not need the metal screen as the Uni has one built in.

Also the metal screen is no guarantee that you will not get a fire. Mine was in and my stock air filter caught fire.

Back to top Go down

Post  Guest Thu Mar 12, 2009 1:08 am

So far I like my UNI. I cant remember if I kept the metal one in or not. Ill have to look Shocked

Back to top Go down