Honda XR650R Discussion
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Anybody actually broke a master link?

Go down

Anybody actually broke a master link? Empty Anybody actually broke a master link?

Post  Guest Mon Jul 27, 2009 6:28 am

Getting ready to replace the chain and would like to put a clipped master link on for ease of cleaning and changing gearing. What do you think, will it hold? The KTM 530 exc comes stock with a clipped link. The manual and boyarnack say staked is a must. Is this another what is the best tire question? By the way where is the best deal on a 606 rear?

Back to top Go down

Anybody actually broke a master link? Empty Renthal 520 gold chain

Post  Guest Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:33 pm

Hello,
Ive been using a clip style renthal 520 gold chain for a couple years now and haven't had a problem. Heavy, rocky trail ridding, with open fire roads, dune ridding etc. Just be sure to mount the clip in a fashion in which the direction the chain, while moving, will push the clip on the the pins.

Back to top Go down

Anybody actually broke a master link? Empty IMHO

Post  Guest Tue Jul 28, 2009 4:38 am

You have to spend a LOT of money to beat the stock chain. Or at least that is what Precision Concepts recommends. Funny, but I just spoke with them last Friday (when they called about something else) about this very thing because my scoot is a 2002 and I'm ready to replace chain and sprockets just as a part of regular maintenance. The Honda chain is a great chain and you should simply replace it, like cables, at regular intervals. Screw maintaining cables. Just replace them. What are they like $20 or so? You can spend a ton on chains, but then it just transfers the wear to sprockets and so forth.

You don't need a case saver either. Just grind the OEM one to fit an 15 tooth front sprocket.